How to delete a Pinterest board

in , by Nellie, December 01, 2021


EVERYTHING ON HOW TO DELETE A PINTEREST BOARD

Creating a Pinterest board is the lifeline of any Pinterest account but at times you no longer want to use a Pinterest board that you created. That's why you're here - because you want to learn how to delete that Pinterest board.

Maybe you overgrew it, lost interest, found a better way to set up your boards or simply stopped writing content found in that Pinterest board... 

Either way, this post has got you covered.

 

In this post, I’ll be talking about:

1.   The normal way to delete a Pinterest board that will kill your account reach.

2.   Why you shouldn’t delete a Pinterest board abruptly & what to do instead.

3.   The right way to delete a Pinterest board.

4.   Addressing the most asked questions about deleting a Pinterest board.

 

Let’s do it.

 


NORMAL WAY TO DELETE A PINTEREST ACCOUNT THAT WLL KILL YOUR ACCOUNT REACH.

 

There’s a simple way to delete your Pinterest board that you’ll find all over the internet, but that process will mess with your account.

But before we get to why it will mess your account, here is the common step-by-step process to delete a Pinterest board that will mess your account.

 

STEP BY STEP PROCESS TO DELETE A PINTEREST BOARD ON LAPTOP

 

1.    1. Log into your account.

2.    2. Tap on your profile picture on your right-hand side. 

     When you log into Pinterest on the laptop, your profile picture will be on the right-hand side. If you have a business account, you will see your accounts analytics. If not, you will not see any data.

3.    3. You will see two options on your profile – Created and Saved. Click on the Saved option. You will now see all your Pinterest boards.

4.    4. over on the board that you want to delete. You should see a pen marker.

5.    5. Click on the pen marker. A pop up will show on your screen.

6.   6. Scroll down to the very bottom. You will see the option to delete your Pinterest board.

7.    7. You will get a prompt that says, “Once you delete a Pinterest board and all its pins, you can’t undo it.”

8.   8. Click on delete forever.

how to delete a pinterest board


 

STEP BY STEP PROCESS TO DELETE A PINTEREST BOARD ON APP


1.    1. Open the Pinterest app.

2.    2. Sign into your account.

3.    3. Click on your profile picture at the bottom right corner.

4.    4. Click on the “saved” button

5.    5. Click on the Pinterest board that you want to delete.

6.    6. Click on the three dots (…) on the top right corner.

7.    7. Click Edit board.

8.    8. Scroll down and click “Delete board”

9.    9. Once you see the pop up on your screen, click “Delete forever”

 

Now, these two methods are quite easy to follow but they will have detrimental effects on your account. WHY? Let’s find out.

 

WHY YOU SHOULDN’T DELETE A PINTEREST BOARD ABRUPTLY.


For you to understand why you shouldn’t delete a Pinterest board, you’ve got to understand how Pinterest works.

But for now, I’ll give you 3 reasons why you shouldn’t delete a Pinterest board abruptly using the methods outlined above.

 

REASON 1: LOWERED IMPRESSIONS AND CLICKS

 

The cumulative impressions you see at the top on your profile is inclusive of all the pins in each and every board. And that includes the impressions as well.

So when you delete a Pinterest board, the cumulative impressions is drastically lowered. 

Of course, that Is dependent on whether or not the board you’re deleting has a huge number of pins or not.

If your board has a huge number of pins, then you’ll have lowered impressions.

And lowered impressions means that all your other pins will also be affected (even those that are not in your deleted Pinterest board)

In the end, that will lower your clicks and make it hard for you to regain daily click goal from Pinterest.

 

REASON 2: ALTER BOARD STRENGTH.

 

When you learn the ways I use to post on Pinterest, you’ll figure out that you must know your strongest board. 

That board will help you pin pins that you want to be picked faster by the algorithm.

Now, when you suddenly delete a Pinterest board, you alter your analytics. 

A board that was not necessarily giving you a ton of impressions will seem as though it is in a better position than it actually is.

That will give an illusion of a board that is performing well when in reality it isn’t. 

Much like what happens when you post an idea pin to a Pinterest board, and it gets a ton of impression giving the illusion that the board is a really strong board.

 

REASON 3: YOU CANNOT UNDO IT


Right now, it might seem like you have no use for the pins within the board you want to delete but you just never know.

You could decide that you want the board back or you want to write topics featured in that board.

So fi you delete your Pinterest board, you won’t have a way to recover those pins or that board ever again.

Whatever impressions your pins will have attracted will all go down the drain. And if you want to bring that board back, you’ll have to start a fresh new board.

And I can tell you (as an experienced Pinterest virtual assistant) it is harder to grow a new Pinterest board than to clean or grow an existing one.

How to delete Pinterest board


 

WHAT TO DO INSTEAD OF DELETING A PINTEREST BOARD.

 

Over the years, I’ve realized a lot of people want to delete their Pinterest boards because of three reasons:

They didn’t set up the board or changed to a business account

They no longer write content on it.

Their interests changed.

 

If you have the last two problems, skip this part and go to the right way to delete a Pinterest board.

If you just learnt that you didn’t set up your board right or changed from a personal to a business account, read on.

 

You could avoid deleting your board if you want to set up your board the right way.

Simply clean out your Pinterest board.

 

There are two ways you can clean out your board instead of deleting it:

1.   Delete all the pins that don’t belong to the topic of the Pinterest board.

2.   Pin a ton of other people’s pins with the keywords you want Pinterest to know about your board.

3.   Change the title and the description of your Pinterest group to match the keywords and topic of your board.

 

This way, you can tell Pinterest what your board is about without deleting it and affecting your impressions.

Finally, do not pin your own pins to this board for at least a week if you decide to clean out your board.

And within that week, make sure you’re strictly pinning related pins to that board.

This will help to strengthen your board with the right keywords before you introduce your own pins.

 

THE RIGHT WAY TO DELETE A PINTEREST BOARD


If you want your account not to be affected by you deleting your Pinterest board, this is the best method I have found that has the least effect.

Additionally, it gives you the freedom to recover your supposed “deleted board”

 

STEPS TO FOLLOW


1.    Hover on the board that you want to delete.

2.    Click on the pen.

3.    Then choose to keep this board secret.

According to Pinterest, when you make a board secret, the pins and the board will not be seen anywhere on Pinterest. https://help.pinterest.com/en/article/secret-boards

That means that you’ll have sort of deleted your board without the negative impacts we just talked about above.

And the best part about having secret boards is that you can always retrieve your pins easily or even clean out your board then change it to public when its ready.

 

THE MOST ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT DELETING A PINTEREST BOARD.

 

How many boards can you delete at a time?

You can delete as many Pinterest boards as you’d like. The only thing to note is that the action will have a negative impact on your Pinterest account. The advisable number would be 2 boards a day. And then once you delete them, creating new Pinterest boards to replace those boards you deleted. That will help to reduce the negative impact deleting Pinterest boards has on your account.

 

What If you want to revamp a Pinterest account, can you delete all the boards?

Yes, you can totally delete all the boards especially if you don’t mind your account impressions tanking. It’s also worth noting that you can always clean up your boards instead of deleting them and avoid a huge decline in impressions and clicks.








 

 

 

 

 


SHARE 0 comments

Add your comment

© Angela Nellie · THEME BY WATDESIGNEXPRESS